Back to Top

Sweden to begin talks with Ecuador in Assange case deadlock

Aug 28, 2015

Sweden will begin talks with Ecuador about Julian Assange on Monday, after Stockholm moved to break the deadlock over five-year-old rape allegations against him. 

President Correa says Ecuador is now producing oil at a loss

Aug 27, 2015

Ecuadoreans are already contending with a rumbling, ash-spewing volcano and rising living costs because they use the appreciating U.S. dollar as their currency. 

Ecuador issues precautionary alert as Cotopaxi volcano stirs

Aug 15, 2015

Ecuador's massive Cotopaxi volcano stirred in the early hours of Friday, with two small explosions reported and ash raining down on the southern part of nearby highland capital Quito. 

National strike, protests against Correa paralyze much of Ecuador

Aug 14, 2015

A general strike against President Rafael Correa virtually paralyzed Ecuador's capital, provincial cities and major highways Thursday and violent clashes broke out between protesters and police in several cities. 

UK to make formal protest to govt of Ecuador over Assange case

Aug 14, 2015

The UK is to make a formal protest to the government of Ecuador over the country's decision to "harbour" Julian Assange, the Foreign Office has said. 

Sweden to drop assault case against Assange in Ecuador embassy

Aug 13, 2015

Swedish prosecutors will drop their investigation into sexual assault allegations against Julian Assange on Thursday because of the statutes of limitation, the BBC has learned. 

Sweden agrees to Ecuador talks over Julian Assange standoff

Aug 11, 2015

Sweden has offered to negotiate an agreement with Ecuador to enable Swedish prosecutors to interview Julian Assange in the Ecuadorean embassy in London, potentially ending the standoff between the two countries but almost certainly too late to prevent some allegations against the WikiLeaks founder from expiring. 

Sweden's plan to question Assange at Ecuador UK embassy stalled

Aug 07, 2015

Swedish prosecutors' plan to question WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange at Ecuador's embassy in London has stalled as Ecuador has demanded Sweden give him asylum as a condition of the meeting, a Swedish official said on Friday. 


Photo credit: Dallas Krentzel via Flickr, Taken on June 10, 2011 (CC BY-ND 2.0)
Ecuadorian spies may have broken the law by obtaining personal information on MPs, en...